Bangladesh bowl in must-win game

Bangladesh bowl in must-win game

Boosted by Bangladesh’s chase of 290 against India, Mushfiqur Rahim was encouraged to bowl first again on winning the toss. The game is of little consequence to Sri Lanka, who have been knocked out of the tournament after two losses. Bangladesh need a win today to seal a place in the final, against Pakistan.

Bangladesh made the one change, replacing the injured opening bowler Shafiul Islam with fellow right-arm seamer Nazmul Hossain. Sri Lanka made a couple of changes. Dinesh Chandimal woke up with an upset stomach and he was replaced by Chamara Kapugedera. They also replaced their legspinner, Seekkuge Prasanna, with the offspinner Sachitra Senanayake.

For the second tournament in succession, the India players will be glued to their television sets in their hotel rooms, awaiting the result of a Sri Lanka game. Sri Lanka sneaked in to the CB Series finals, beating Australia in a crucial league game, thereby edging India out earlier this month. Now, India will be praying that Sri Lanka beat the hosts.

Sri Lanka: 1 Mahela Jayawardene (capt), 2 Tillakaratne Dilshan, 3 Kumar Sangakkara (wk), 4 Lahiru Thirimanne, 5 Upul Tharanga, 6 Chamara Kapugedera, 7 Farveez Maharoof, 8 Nuwan Kulasekara, 9 Sachitra Senenayake, 10 Lasith Malinga, 11 Suranga Lakmal

Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Nazimuddin, 3 Jahurul Islam, 4 Nasir Hossain, 5 Shakib Al Hasan, 6 Mushfiqur Rahim (capt & wk), 7 Mahmudullah, 8 Mashrafe Mortaza, 9 Abdur Razzak, 10 Nazmul Hossain, 11 Shahadat Hossain

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s